Seniors Trophy Winners

The Seniors Section Trophies winners for 2023 were presented at the Club recently, here are photos of the major winners:

Ray Dunningham Trophy – Simon Donnelly

Championship Bowl – Chris Gerry

Keith Jones Memorial Trophy – Peter Bennie


Seniors Pairs Open 2023

Count backs were necessary to separate the first three places in the Winter Pairs Open Golf Day at Brett Vale GC on Thursday 23rd November, when each group carded 41 points on a wind-swept day on which players from as far afield as Swindon, Dunstable and Gorleston together with several from Essex and Suffolk clubs participated in this first event of its’ kind at the club.

Similarly, the Brett Vale Members section also resulted in a count-back to separate the first three teams.  A raffle held for the benefit of the Club Captain’s Charity raised £155.

It is hoped that a similar event will be held in 2024, possibly during the warmer months of the year!


NEAREST THE PIN 4 TH Richard Cross (Stoke by Nayland)

NEAREST THE PIN IN TWO 18th Chris Gerry (Brett Vale)

MEMBERS – 1st Prize Simon Donnelly/Owen Norman (39)

MEMBERS – Front 9 Danny Lumley/Kam Mok

MEMBERS – Back 9 Mark Hanlon/Richard Wright

GUESTS – Front 9 Steve Sear/Roger Charge (Ogbourne Downs/Dunstable Downs)

GUESTS – Back 9 James Henderson/Chris Brockwell (Benton Hall)

3 rd Place Roger Fleuty/Robert Cross (41) (Stoke by Nayland)

2 nd Place David Gillespie/Stephen Barraclough (41) (Forrester Park)

1 st Place James Gough/John Cater (41) (Gorleston)

Rose & Two Thorns

Seniors and Ladies at Brett Vale GC held the annual “Rose & Two Thorns” competition on 9th August, an event for teams of three comprising two Seniors Men and one Lady member, with best two stableford scores counting.

 The event had been sponsored by the now late Bill Ray, a Senior Member who had always enjoyed this format and had generously donated funds prior to his death to ensure its’ continuation.
Scoring was close on a lovely sunny morning, with the top three teams all finishing with 83 points, but having scored 44 points on the back-nine holes, the winning team was Patsy Grimsey, Dave Kilby  and Barry Root (photo below receiving the trophy from Club Ladies Captain, Catherine Le Tue.
1st Dave Kilby, Barry Root, Patsy Grimsey 83 points on countback
2nd Brig Archer, Bill Stowe, Hanette Shea 83 points on countback
3rd John Ames, John Curran, Julie Dent 83 points on countback
image0 (5)